Shut me up if I complain..

I´ve cried today. I´ve received a ppt from a friend. It was about differences in the world. About complaining about softness of the bed while there are people who do not have bed, about complaining about food while there are people who do not have any food, about complaining about trade mark of the clothes while others do not have clothes etc)
I can say that most of the time I am aware of different conditions we live in and I am thankful for what I have. When I have to study late in the night awareness of my situation keeps me awake and do what I can. Being aware of the fact that I CAN work in the days and therefore study in the nights and that I CAN do it gives me strenght. There are people who do not have this option although they would love to.

But back to the ppt. Although I am aware of that I do complain sometimes. About food, about dirt, about the quality of my mp3 player, slow computer, boring TV programme, mobile phone not fancy enough...grrr!!! Yes maybe it is natural that people (including me) wanna progress, that they follow development around them, that we are part of a huge wave which is just pushing new things, improvement and I am not against it...BUT...not on the expense of somebody else or on expense of the world. That really makes me cry. Egoism makes me cry. My own as well. So please..shut me up when I am complaining about smth irrelevant.

Oooh..it is raining agaaiiiiinnn..nooo. Ooooh...it is so hoooooot!!!! Aaah..they do not have my favourite chocolate! Aaah..Please count to ten before you complain. I will do that also.

Following facts are taken from the book: Earth from the Air (by Yann Arthus - Bertrand)
- World population: 
1800 - 1 billion
1960 - 3 billion
2000 - 6 billion
2050 - 9 billion

-4% of the wealth of the world´s 225 most wealthy families would provide access to basic needs and fundamental health care, education and nutrition for the world

- Over 1 billion people lack basic, decent shelter

- On avarage, an American uses 600 litres of water per day, a European 250 and an African 30.

- 20%population does not have access to safe drinking water

-People living in rich countries, a mere 20% of the total human population, eat 45% of meat and fish consumed throughout the world.

- Half of humanity lives on less than 2 USD per day

Yes..and when I read those facts, I hear lyrics of NO NAME (a slovak music group) -  "If everyone would want to have a bit less, all of us would have more". I think it is suitable...
                                   

Kommentarer
Postat av: Jan Tore

Hm. This made me think. In security announcments on airplanes they say that you should put on your own oxygen-mask before putting it on your child or other needing help. It sounds a bit cruel thinking about it, but it is probably a sound advice.
I think everyone has their own "comfort-level". This is based on where you are today, and expectasions for the future. Sometimes you can go under that level. I can sleep on the floor for a week or two if i know that there is a bed waiting for me at home. I don't think it would do me or anybody else any good if i slept on the floor permanently (or had a too soft madras.) So i complain if i sleep badly. Or if i don't find one of my favorite sodas in the store (they stopped producing it some month ago, probably since i was the only one drinking it!) and i am very, very annoyed by slow computers. I don't think that is selfish as long as i don't get totally obsessed by it.
This does not apply to some things where i think that what i do might mean some small difference in other people's life. I don't drink partly because i don't want to contribute to an alcohol culture which makes misery for many people, and i have no problem boycotting big shrimps (or whatever they are called). But i think that to be helpful to others, you also have to be comfortable with how you feel about your life. And sometimes it might be the smaller and irrelevant things in life that decides that.
Well, this got a bit long. Should have written it in my own blog.

Postat av: Kristina to JT

I totally agree with you Jan Tore. And I was thinking of the same things when I was writing the blog I just didnt know how to write it short. Apparently it is not possible =) Hihii.. The point of my blogg was more about being thankful for what we have. Because this I miss sometimes. I do not mean now just to smile happily and stagnate then or really not to develop because it IS natural process. I just think that there are many complaints which do not need to be outspoken.
Moreover..look at the world..our consume makes us sometimes even feel uncomfortable but the greedyness is stronger.

2006-06-18 @ 14:17:49
Postat av: Madlena

Since I red your blogg yesterday the tought about complains is all the time in my head! Because I do complain so often about some small things that didn't work like I wanted them, or that i was too warm, didn't find the dress i wanted, my food was too spicy or not baked enough...I realise that this are so superficial thing and that I can skip saying or thinking about them. I appreciate all I have, I claim that I have all I need and in the same time I am complaining so often! And I want to stop it and be greatful because I know that I am not a bad person and I want to make the world better place. And bloggs as yours (Kristina's and Kadri's)are really a big good push for me! thank you for sharing and making people thinking...

2006-06-19 @ 16:42:27
Postat av: Kristina to Madlena

You made me very happy Madlena =) And i am very happy that there are people like you are - listening and willing to change smth. Big hug!!!

2006-06-19 @ 16:49:38
Postat av: maik

hmm - I wanted to say something here according to the discussion.
I like it very much! Thanks to Kristina, Jan Tore and Madlena I gained some thoughts which I will put forward as soon as possible.
In the meantime, those who can and are interested, check my blog @ EGTYF.
Peace maik

2006-06-19 @ 22:15:19

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress:

URL:

Kommentar:

Trackback