My personal confession

I am going to write about nationality and gender and that I do not care about them. I do not care about nationality or gender of other people and I do not care about my own nationality and gender.


One girl has told me that I am swedish although she knows I am coming from Slovakia. Maybe she wanted to make me happy (I do not see other explanation). I told her that I was not Swedish. Then she told me: „ok, but almost swedish“. How can I be almost swedish? Is that possible? I told her that I was not almost Swedish. I was born and I lived 22 years in Slovakia, according to all papers I am Slovak. I have lived in Sweden almost 2 years. I work for a European organisation and most of my friends are coming from different parts of Europe, including Slovakia and Sweden. But my point in this blog is, that I do not care about my nationality. At all. I like certain things about Slovakia and about Sweden, as I like them about Bosnia and Herzegovina or Czech republic.The fact that there is no war in Slovakia does not make me happier than the fact there is no war in Germany. Both facts are just great. For me the fact that I am coming or living in one of the countries has a value of zero. My identity is not based on something I can not influence. I am trying to contribute to better conditions there I can. Regardless boarders.
And similar things about gender. I am a woman. I am aware of it but it has no special meaning to me. I am not going around beating in my chest that I am a woman. Or crying because of that. It is very neutral fact for me. Gender is anyway something I was tought.

Don´t understand me wrong here. Of course I see what is happening around to different nationalities and gender discrimination etc. But that is not point of this blog (I might write about it some other time).

Important to me is, that I do not hurt people around me, that I am thankful for all nice things happening around me (in Sweden or in Slovakia or in some other country), that there are people who have allowed me to enter their lives (and I do not think they did it because of my nationality or gender) and that there are people who have dared to enter my life...

Kommentarer
Postat av: Madlena

I can say that after so many discussions on this topics it is much more clear now for me what you mean. You know that my feelings about gender and nationality are a bit different but i do admire your attitude toward such sensitive topics as gender and nationality. I think you could much easier deal with the life that way...

2006-06-12 @ 13:32:44
Postat av: Madlena

"my country is the world and my religion is to do good things" has said one american politician. Now I see your real point:)

2006-06-15 @ 15:36:43
Postat av: Kristina to (both) Madlena(s)

BINGO BINGO lille Bongo =)

2006-06-15 @ 16:05:19
Postat av: Justinruna

I found all information to be intriguing and motivational. It was meant for me to find this website without even having any intention of looking for subjects in this area.


Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress:

URL:

Kommentar:

Trackback