Home..what does it mean?

Maik asked what home really means. Is it a place? Or is it a feeling? And of course I dont have any definite answer because each of us can see different meaning of the word.

When I was little and was supposed to write a "patriotic" essay about My country - my home, I wasnt able to write any celebrating things about Slovakia because my home wasnt country. My home was my family, my home were my friends and things I was doing. I was sure that the fact that it was exactly Slovakia didnt matter. I didnt choose it when I was born and Slovakia didnt choose me. It just happened and we (Slovakia and me) had to find a way how to live together. We did find a way. There were some things I liked a lot. I think it was nature I appreciated the most. Except people in my surrounding of course.
And there were things I didnt agree with. And it was the general mentality mostly. Disrespect and neglecting by those who should have cared the most. Government. I was not able to say that I was proud of my country because of the unfair division of power etc. My country was not my home.

It somehow happened that right now I live in Sweden. I have been here more than a year and half. I feel nice and thanks to this time out of Slovakia I realized what "home" means to me. My home is about feelings and understanding. It´s about throwing away the masks we wear and daring to be who I am. it´s about going the same way for 24 years and see everydays changes, it´s about memories that just pop up and make me feel that there r people who care and I care about, it s also about happines from getting to know new ways, it´s about meeting old friends who haven´t forgotten you and smile that they see you, it´s about meeting new people who want to see you again and  making new friendship, it´s about seeing future and having plans, it´s about understanding people´s situation because of the same history, it´s about being alone but not lonely, it´s about being a part of something and not just a stranger passing by, it´s about giving presents without reason, it´s about visits without invitation, it´s everydays smell...

Everywhere I feel this, is my home.

Kommentarer
Postat av: Maja

Good question Maik!!! And great answer! I guess it has a lot to do with the feeling of being loved and love... and share... and much much...

2006-04-16 @ 18:08:09
Postat av: Kristina

Yeah yeah yeah..thank u Maja..and hej..people tell me..what is home to u?

2006-04-16 @ 18:25:27
Postat av: Jan Tore

Hm. After reading this i`m not sure if i have any. But i do think the feeling comes everytime i remember something that i had forgotten or atleast not thought about for awhile. Like the smell of green gras and dirt. Or walking barefoot on warm asphalt. Collecting football cards. The world cup in Argentina in `78. Trying to fetch snow flakes with my tongue. Lollipop (an icecream). And several songs. So maybe not so much about people when it think about it, as with memories that "pop" up under certain circumstances i guess.


Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress:

URL:

Kommentar:

Trackback