My reflection

Some days ago I accidently and then voluntarily took part in a demonstration against Nazis. nazis. I was just walking through Örebro when I saw group of people standing with black umbrellas pointing against another group of people holding flags, newsletters and megaphones. The group unannounced, claiming that they were just spreading newspaper, was actively promoting Nazism and had a small demonstration. The police was standing around but did not ask them to leave eventhough they did not have permission for such an event. If an NGO wants to organize smth we always have to ask for permission describing what we are going to do, how big space we are going to use etc.
In this case..they just let them act unless something bad happens. Interesting.
Young social democrats just finished their congress the day before and were still in the town so they managed to organize themselves rather fast and to "counter"act. They bought black umbrellas and were just standing around the group of Nazis..oh..sorry..I wanted to write nazis, kind of blocking them.
 
image187

They also started conversation. Asking what is "swedish" according to them. What the swedish identity  involves.  Of course no reasonable asnwer came. The guy was refering to the history - almost to monkeys and just made fool of himself. I got really upset when he offered a banana to a girl of dark skin who tried to have an inteligent conversation with him. 

image186

It made me think a lot about national identity again. I consider it a very abused concept  to manipulate people. It is very nice to care about the country or people of the same nationality, but why should a country or same origin be the reason? Why should I like someone more just because it is a person coming from the same country as I do? Why should I take care more about Slovakia than I do about Sweden or Hungary? Why should I feel more special or worse that I am Slovak and not a Swede? Why should I be proud that I am a Slovak and the world champion in 100 m butterly (swimming) from 2004 is Slovak. She did not win it because she is from Slovakia and I haven´t contributed in any way to her victory. Of course the sport example could be replaced by politics or art to make it more serious. But still. And why should I suffer and feel guilty because of some slovaks responsible for cruelty under 2nd world war? Hmm..I dont feel responsible for past and I do not take any benefit of someone´s else success just because we were born in the same country or we have the same skin colour. All I can do to feel good about and proud of myself is to work on my own development and contribute to make the world nicer by all means I can think of. I do not want to hide behind any other identity.


Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress:

URL:

Kommentar:

Trackback