Macedonia in 2 days

Right from Bulgaria, me, Tiina, Per Jorgen and Sofia went to visit Maja and her friends in Macodonia. We wanted to see and experience Macodonian daily life, walk around Skopje, see many of Maja´s friends, try Maja´s mom´s food, go to Ohrid and chill out on the beach there. Everything in 2 days. 

The first thing that really touched me was borders. Two controls at each side, luggage checking and questions. I haven´t experienced such since I was six years old. I think I needed this experience to remind me that it is not very easy to travel in all the countries and that I am very lucky person that I can forget my passport for most of my travels and just go with ID without explaining reasons of my visit and proving that I´ll come back.

When we wanted to go to Ohrid (3 hours from Skopje) and found out that the bus was full, we were thinking to take a taxi (very usual mean of transport in macedonia) It would cost us less than double of the bus ticket price. We found another two girls who wanted to go to the same town so they just joined us in negotiating the price with taxi drivers. We made it from 700 to 500 dinars (the bus is 430). In the end we found a guy (a family friend) who would drive us there and back. The problem is that those two girls would not fit into the car since we were 7 and the car was for 7. One of the girls not belonging to our group came and started negotiating with us to move a bit and make space for them etc. I considered it very funny since I compered it to a situtation when she would come to a private car and ask a family to squeeze a bit so they (total strangers) can travel with them. We said no and she left without bad feelings. She tried at least.

Another strong moment was the whole last hour before our departure. We had very little time to pack, buy some things, eat etc. Maja´s friends wanted to meet her and say bye to her (and some of them to us as well). All of a sudden 15 people were in a small apartment. Since we did not have much time to prepare food, everybody was running around, cooking for us, preparing sandwiches while we were packing. Incredible. Just huge "virvar". Then the whole group as royal convoy followed to the bus station and waved good bye. Crazy. Perfect movie situation.

The food was very good. The people were many and all of them incredibly friendly.  I really liked the culture of social life which is very very different from swedish or slovak one. People talk to each other constantly, they have very huge social network and they help to each other. If you need a help, a friend of a friends cousin´s friend will help you. 

I decided to visit Balkans every summer. I think I need to experience that warmth to balance swedish calmness (which I really love as well).
 

Kommentarer
Postat av: Vladimir

Yes.You are so right about the borders. But at least you need passport for a few European countries, those one which are outside the EU. :)
An for us, FYROMians :))), it is so hard to travel outside our small country. We can't move anywhere outside Macedonia without passports. And not just passport but we need visas for almost all European countries, except Serbia and Albania.
A song came to my mind, while I was writing my complaiments about traveling and goes like this :
"Life is piece of *hit when you look at it, but always look on the bright side of life" :)))
And yes Kristina, you and everyone else should visit Balcans, especially Macedonia, in summer. Because winter is so sad overhere :)
p.s. Sorry for my little bit obscene language.It won't happen again. I lied. Sure it will :))

Postat av: Maja

Extremly happy that you visited and felt... sorry couse it was too short time, but I am sure you will come again... Macedonia loves you... it was moving for me also.. =)
we were a great team together..

2007-08-10 @ 18:23:12
Postat av: Kristina

You are right Maja =)
And hello Vlado =) Welcome in my blog!!!

2007-08-10 @ 19:26:51
Postat av: Vladimir

I 100% agree with Maja. Yes, it was short time but it was very nice and also funny time I've spent with you girls/guys.
Although I've met all of you for the first time(yes including Maja:))), for a various moments I felt that I've been part of you for a long time. It was very nice and pleasant feeling for me.
I must admit, and I rarely express my feelings in written way, that I was really touched and moved by your kindness and generosity, and also for accepting me as one of yours.
Thank you girls/guys.:)))

2007-08-11 @ 03:47:58
URL: http://jasvikam.blogspot.com
Postat av: Kristina

It was just a pleasure to get to know you and spent time with you Vlado =)

2007-08-11 @ 14:04:31
Postat av: Sofia

I can´t agree more with Kristina Vlado! It was a great time in macedonia, a little short and a little rainy, but very nice :)

2007-08-13 @ 12:04:48
URL: http://sofiahallbert.blogg.se
Postat av: Vladimir

Yes it was short and rainy, but that is reason + , to come again and to catch nice sunny weather :)))

2007-08-14 @ 19:12:22
URL: http://diversityuniverse.blogspot.com/
Postat av: Minja

Aaa.. Nope! Sarajevo first! :P na na nananaaaaa =)looking forward to it!

2007-08-23 @ 13:48:43
Postat av: Vladimir

Haha... In order for everlasting peace on the Balkan, I give up. :)))
Let there Sarajevo be first. :)))
Pozdrav do Sarajeva. Nisam uspeo uzeti nijedan e-mail od bosanske ekipe, tako da ako zhelite mozhete poslati jedan Hi! mail na [email protected] , da vas imam u adrees book-u.
Sorry for my use of serbo-croatian language Kristina, it won't happen again. I just needed to write down some sentences on my ex language :)))

2007-08-23 @ 19:26:05
URL: http://diversityuniverse.blogspot.com/
Postat av: Joachimelena

I searched a long time for such an great article. Thank you very much.

2010-01-06 @ 09:17:19
URL: http://joachimelena.blogspot.com

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress:

URL:

Kommentar:

Trackback