ICAA part no. I or "quotations"

The ICAA conference in Stockholm was another battery charger for me. I was really longing for some new imput. Writing applications, visiting organisations, helping with the seminars is lots of fun but at one point I find myself missing new information given in form of lectures, via discussions (as I was used from the university). So now I got a huge present by being there.

In this entry I want to share a story which was a part of a great great presentation held by Hans Rosling from Sweden telilng about his neighbour who is an expert on wine and knows about 200 different sorts of wine. Hans said he knows only 2 sorts of wine: red and white. But on the other hand the neighbour knows only two types of countries -developing and industrialized compared to Hans who knows 202.
The sentence he said afterwards still resonates in my ears: "We know wine better than the world (...) Our slogan should be Absolute shame"

Kommentarer
Postat av: Kristina

To Lille: Yes I have seen Vasil´s mom. And regarding prevention she mentioned Free Youth Bulgaria =)
To JT: He was talking about division of the world into developing and industrialized countries. He does not support that kind of division because in all the countries you can find all the kinds of living conditions and he suggested continuous scale instead of polarized into two. He had great graphs and visualizations. Where did you see him?

2005-07-02 @ 09:26:33
Postat av: lille

Ahh I understood Vassil's mother was teher having a presentation. She is a real crocodile...but people often like her lectures:)

2007-06-17 @ 15:34:40
Postat av: Jan Tore

Hans Rosling is a genius. One of the best lectures i have ever seen. Did he have any figures more on alcohol now? When i have seen him it has been more general public health.

2007-06-17 @ 20:21:47
Postat av: Jan Tore

I saw him at a Nordan meeting. But i have downloaded lectures by him from the net also. A
s you say - really great visualizations. But he is also so enthusiastic in his performance that it becomes fun to watch. Not all my lectures at the university was like that....

2007-06-18 @ 11:24:24
Postat av: Nicole Kidman 2008

Uno straise Qatro single sais, thanx

2008-01-16 @ 18:41:18
Postat av: Abelsigrun

Hey, this is a great site, I learned a lot!


Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress:

URL:

Kommentar:

Trackback