"I am here to serve you..hmm"

I love Active and working for Active was never just a work for me. It´s been a pleasure, fun, learning new things. I can´t say that I am only giving. I am getting a lot every day. There was time when I haven´t even distinguish between work and hobby when it came to Active. After 24 moths and some of them very intesive I learnt that if I want to do my best in and for Active, I have to be able to switch off. To do something completely else. OK I have never learnt to switch off totally because Active is my life style.
 
And I guess also Active people have noticed that. They can ask whenever and for whatever. It´s my pleasure to help if I can. If we just look at yesterday. There were some problems with traveling for some members of the preparation team of Strasbourg seminar so I stayed in the office untill half past eight and just helped. No problem. Then at eleven in the night I got sms from another member of the team: "I need to know the address of EYC and the name of the closest tram stop". Aha..I told to myself. OK. It happened to me also that I had not checked all the travel details before I went somewhere and I needed immediate help. And I got it from Fredrik without any complaints. So I really can understand that this can happen and I ran to the internet to find out (since I do not know such things just like that) and answered sms. What I really missed at that moment was kind of understanding that I also have some free time, maybe I rest on friday night after working 11,5 hour? Hmm...Or maybe I just do not work 24/7..

This is not about asking for help. I know that Active office work is more or less 24/7 and I know that the information needed at that time was very important and I did not hesitate for half a second to do everything to be able to answer it. This is more about the way of asking for help which equaled an order. That hurt a bit...

Kommentarer
Postat av: maik

I think we should take this blogg as a chance and concider it one, two seconds...
Let me try it: I advance of the camp in Basel this summer and even earlier I was asking a lot of questions - many of them rather redundant - but I needed to know things. And you know what? I got to know things, even the stupid questions have been answered patiently.
That gave me a very comfortable feeling - especially in reference to the EVS and the work in the office. Still I am very grateful for that! But did I tell that? Do the people I asked know that?
I am not sure because this blogg has illustrated that we all too often and all too fast take things for granted.
We shouldn't, we really should not - especially when it is coming to terms with words like "please" and "thank you". I know them even in many languages (one of them is Macedonian.
So, why don't we "waste" some more space in sms' and add those warm words if we can make someone feel comfortable?
Sometimes we - and yes me too - we forget about the easy things and thus our friends, fellows get hurt.
But I hold that should not happen to anybody and especially not to someone who gives so much warmth and smile and information ;))
So, thank you for that blogg! And PLEASE keep up the great work!
PEACE

2006-09-23 @ 19:35:31
Postat av: Madlena

Kristina, you have given so much and I believe we all know you will help even at 3 in the night but we do not always think that at that time you have your free time and we have to appreciate it when infracting it. And this is important! Me an Mike here it seems we are going to start a campaign "Say thank you" cause we all have a lot to learn about appreciating ... not only in this case but in general, this is also how we can improve our world and make it more friendly and thankful.

2006-09-23 @ 22:08:49
Postat av: Sanja

Can I join your campaign Madlena??? =)))) I definitely agree with you!!! Lot of times, not that we don't want to, maybe we just forget to say "Thank you" or "Please"..., but this doesn't mean that it's o.k. It should help us realise that those little words, (that we often forget) are actually VERY important and helpfull!!! So maybe this blog will help us remember in future allways to say it!!! And not only to Kristina, but to everyone who will help us(especially if it is after working time, like for example going in the office on sunday for the letters for visa, isn't it right Madlena =))) ) THANK YOU!!!!!!!!!!!

2006-09-24 @ 20:06:27
Postat av: Kristina

I am happy that u mentioned it Sanja =) Really my intention wasnt to make people write odes about me but to realize the power of those words =) And many people working in Active office and out of the office deserved and deserve those nice words =) So yes..maybe 23rd of September can be a thank you day =)

2006-09-25 @ 00:43:15
Postat av: Katka

Kik, you know very well my opinion about this. My level of adrenaline is rising dangerously again. I just think again that some people should start using the rest of their brain capacity from time to time. Sorry to be this harsh. People should realize that it is not right to abuse the generosity of others. I usually ask for help and support when I am convinced that there is no way out otherwise. And even (mainly) when I am desperate I do not forget to be polite and humane.

And thank you, Little Fairy Amelie, that you are so patient and generous with us, imperfect human beings ;-)

2006-09-25 @ 12:31:38
Postat av: Maja

I am with you too!!! And I don't think I can add something, couse seems like you have mention many things.. and it is just nice to be with you and share the same opinion! =)

2006-09-25 @ 12:38:34
Postat av: kadri

agree with all above. just be strict on working times and when its not an emergency, just ignore until you are in office again on your normal working time.
a thank you or please is never too much..

and hereby i also appologize for sometimes makin u stay longer in office.. i shouldnt.

thank you, tack, aitäh, danke, spasibo, djakujem(not sure how right the spellin is...:-) ), grazie, gracias, merci, köszönöm, kiitos.. ok have forgot some languages, but hope you know, in my mind there is an endless thank you line.

2006-09-25 @ 14:47:15

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress:

URL:

Kommentar:

Trackback