Basel at the spot..

There are many things to write about from one week in Basel. When I look back. I was trying to sort out my thoughts but I am still overwhelmed by feelings.. Nevermind..i´ll give it a try.

So the EGTYF congress started. I was "just"  an observer since I work for EGTYF so it wass logical that I wasn´t a delegate. I can say it was great to observe. And I felt very happy. I saw people I work for in action. I saw new organisations taking active part during the sessions, I saw old organisations who havent taken part in previous congresses talking and expressing their wishes. I saw people gathering, dicsussin, laughing, thinking, creating coalitions..I heard great speeches, board reports and I was proud to be member of EGTYF..
....or Active which is the same. Yes we changed the name into "Active - sobriety, friendship and peace". There are still discussions going on. Is it good or not? Is it the right name for temperance organisation? There are arguments that we will make an impression of being sport organisation. I do not agree really. Not only sport has something to do with activity. What about active participation? What about living an active life and not being passive? Passivity leads to using drugs for example. And our members are active in what they do. They actively promote the ideas of the organisation and also their believes, they take active step forward. It is up to us to make word "active" connected with temperance. I believe that it will help the organistion to grow and change the discourse connected to "active". And maybe it will also help some people to realize that sport and alcohol really do not belong to each other. Maybe..

When it comes to IOGT International congress..I liked it a lot. I was charing it twice. The first day and the day before the last day (how to call it in english). As I said I have learnt a lot from Robert and Andreas who were chairing the EGTYF congress. I have learnt that one has to be really clear and strict and be focused all the time.  When being a chairman I had one thing on mind. Respect. From my side and from side of others. There were more than 45 countries presented at the congress. People of different ages, from different cultures, having different "congress habits" but keeping those four things on mind - it was easy to handle. I loved it!!!!

Free time, evenings - I was amazed by many situations - drummers, Balcans together, winning volleyball, party in Basel...yes I have to describe it by few words.

street action

During the excursion day, we had also street action in Basel. We went through the down shouting: "what´s a party without alcohol? Real party!!!" untill we reached the town hall and there we had disco, photo making etc. It was REAL party!!! So much fun! It was great final of the whole bus tour action. Many people dancing and enjoying. I felt very proud again!!!!

Maybe I can write a bit more about being elected vicepresident of IOGT International as well. Yes..when I got to know some day in May that EGTYF (now Active) wanted to nominated me for vicepresident of IOGT I, I was very surprised. It was very unexpected but the timing was incredible. Right those days I was walking around thinking that I have been very much active in Europe, but that I should step further cause Europe is not a desert island and I should live only in my "small" european bubble although it feels very nice and safe. I had to think a bit. I didnt know what such a position carries and so on but after some days of thinking I said yes.  And am happy that i did! After the congress I am very motivated to represent IOGT International and tp copntribute to its aims. I hope I will be able to do that. I will do my best!!!

Kommentarer
Postat av: Sanja

I KNOW you will be able to do it (vicepresident of IOGT)!!! And when I saw you the last day, when IOGT's board was represented, you were there as vicepresident, with all those people around you, you were shining, and I just knew you were the right person for that!!!!! I belive in you, and that you'll be the best vicepresident IOGT has ever got!!! =))))

2006-08-12 @ 14:50:20
Postat av: Kristina to Sanja

Thank you Sanja =) Huuug!!!!

2006-08-13 @ 23:28:34
Postat av: Katka

Sunny, you know that I am very proud of you, but I feel that I must repeat it again and again. I agree with Sanja that you are going to be a SHINING STAR! ;-D as a vicepresident of IOGT. One more thing: Woooooow! (to the event!)

And the "day before the last day" is called in English the "second last day" (hope that is a new phrase to learn for Maik as well ;-)

2006-08-15 @ 17:26:57

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress:

URL:

Kommentar:

Trackback